Lokpal Website Launched Today

Lokpal website launched
Lokpal website launched

The Lokpal Website was inaugurated by the Chairperson, Justice Shri Pinaki Chandra Ghose in presence of all the Members of Lokpal today.  The DG, NIC, Smt. Neeta Verma was also present on the occasion.  The Website has been developed by NIC and provides basic information with respect to the working and functioning of the Lokpal. The Website can be accessed at http://lokpal.gov.in.

The Lokpal is the first institution of its kind in independent India, established under the Lokpal and Lokayuktas Act, 2013 to inquire and investigate into allegations of the corruption against public functionaries who fall within the scope and ambit of the above Act.

The Government appointed Justice Shri Pinaki Chandra Ghose, as the first Chairperson of the Lokpal who was administered oath on 23rd March, 2019 by the President of India. The Government has also appointed four Judicial and four non-Judicial Members.  The office of Lokpal is temporary functioning from the Hotel Ashok, Chanakyapuri, New Delhi. 

The process of notifying the rules and regulations including the format for receiving complaints is being developed.  All complaints which were received till 16th April 2019 have been examined by the Office of Lokpal and disposed of accordingly. The Complaints received thereafter are under examination.

About Lokpal 

The Lokpal consists of a Chairperson and eight members. Four of the judicial members have been former Chief Justices of different High Courts and the four non-judicial members have been from All India Services/Central Services. The Chairperson and members bring with them rich experience and probity, which they have maintained in the public offices that they have held.

First Chairperson of the Lokpal is Shri Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose, who is a former Judge of Supreme Court of India and was a sitting member of the National Human Rights Commission.

Chairperson, Lokpal

Born on 28th May 1952, Justice Shri Pinaki Chandra Ghose obtained a Degree of B.Com. from St., Xavier’s College and LL.B degree from the University of Calcutta. Subsequently, he became Attorney-at-Law at High Court of Calcutta. In July 1997, he was appointed Judge of Calcutta High Court. In 2012, he was appointed as Acting Chief Justice of Andhra Pradesh High Court and, subsequently, became permanent Chief Justice High Court of Andhra Pradesh. In 2012, he served as Chancellor of NALSAR, Hyderabad. In 2013, he was appointed as Supreme Court Judge. From 29.6.2017 till 21.3.2019, he served as Member of National Human Rights Commission, New Delhi. He has been appointed as Hon’ble Chairperson Lokpal on 23rd March 2019.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here